Skip to content

The Successes of the East African Community (EAC)

Trademark East Africa, a body set up and funded by development aid works with Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda to create a single free trade bloc. Trademark East Africa is a Board member of EFA. The EAC seeks to transform the region into a single market that allows free movement of goods, people, services, labour and capital, and create a single investment area as a model for the AfCFTA. Trademark East Africa has now been asked to add two new countries to its work, which includes training customs and other trade-related government officials; ensuring customs pre-clearance and identifying and reducing non-tariff barriers, among other objectives.

Posted in

Alastair Tempest

Leave a Comment

Become a member

Join the Ecommerce Forum South Africa and benefit from industry insights in South Africa and Africa.

Sign up to newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter and stay informed of the progress we are making at the Ecommerce Forum South Africa with government during Coronavirus.