Skip to content


EFSA has seven Working Parties which members are welcome, and encouraged, to join.

These are:

  • Education & Research – we are preparing through UCT an inventory of the research which exists; looking at definitions of ecommerce, and considering what research is necessary. Additionally, EFSA is preparing a curriculum for ecommerce training; a Workshop to introduce ecommerce for start-up & SMME companies;
  • Legal & Representation – is responsible for our representational activities, preparing submissions to government on draft regulations and policies, coordinating responses with members and with other business sectors, such as the CGCSA, BUSA and the SAUBC. The Committee also represents the sector on the POPIA, and is preparing a code on ‘automated decision making decisions
  • Marketing of EFSA Committee – this committee looks at how EFSA can recruit new members and retain existing members.
  • EFSA Special Projects Committee  This committee explores new projects for EFSA, including an awards planned for 2021 (COVID allowing).
  • Online Payments This Committee deals with all issues related to e-payments, including EFSA’s relations with the Payments Association of SA (PASA). Together with BankServ and PASA the committee has been highly successful in ensuring the smooth running of the Black Friday period; the Committee is responsible for EFSA’s response to the Reserve Bank (SARB) on the interchange determination process, and other relevant SARB initiatives.
  • Empowering Women, Youth and Disadvantaged in Ecommerce Committee – The Committee has a project with the City of Johannesburg and DHL to train women, youth and the disadvantaged in ecommerce. It has provided interviews with women in ecommerce (see the Media) for EFSA and UNCTAD’s eTrade for All project.
  • Marketing of Ecommerce Committee - This committee has been set up to draft best practices for digital agencies on marketing online selling. The emphasis needs to be on selling products rather than brand awareness.


Online Payments Committee

Thomas van der Spuy  - Chair, CallPay

Karen Nadasen, PayU

Junaid Osman, PayU

Rahul Jain, Peach Payments

Nancy Kamau, Peach Payments

Sara Cherian, ACI Worldwide

Greg van der Riet, Payjustnow

Joel Bronkowski, Paystack

Carrie Dickie, Xpressa

Niven Govender, Makro

Sachin Dowarkasing, Ecommpay

Jethro O'Brien, Tradesafe Escrow

Rutendo Hlatshwayo, Ozow

Dan Buntman, Ozow

Enrico Ferigolli, PnP

Thomas Reisenberger, Legalese (Legal Counsel)

Stu Mene, Matshaya Media


Legal and Representational Committee

Rieka van Wyk, Chair

Esti Louw, PayU

Tebogo Loate, Lefa Cooperative

Jason Blackman, DHL

Mzuzukile Soni, Brownsense

Andre du Preez, Cyquapro

Enrico Ferigolli, PnP


Research and Education Committee

Adheesh Budree, Chair, UCT

Warrick Kernes, Insaka Academy

Keitumetse Diseko, Brownsense

Tebogo Loate, Lefa Cooperation

John McDonald, Redshift

Cornelius Bothma, UNISA

Jason Cohen, WITS

Jan Jooste, Vaal University of Technology

Dinath, Wafeequa, UJ

Kagiso Mabe, UJ

Venessa Dewing, DHL

Jason Blackman, DHL

Arthur Goldstuck, World Wide Worx (observer)

Bram Ayoo, EITI Africa (Observer)

Enrico Ferigolli, PnP


Special Projects Committee

Wale Adejumo, Chair, Dropstore

James van der Hoven, Vane Digital

Brenda Ngubeni, Brownsense

Dylan Piatti, Advantage Group

Tinashe Guramatunhu, King Online

Lauretta Ngakane, EFSA


Marketing EFSA Committee

Marc Hershowitz                                Chair,

Neels Bothma                                      UNISA

Warrick Kernes                                    Insaka Academy

James van der Hoven                         Vane Digital

Deon van Rensburg                            Inspired Marketing

Sammy Thuita                                     DHL


Marketing of EFSA

Adheesh Budree, UCT

Wale Adejumo, Dropstore

Kerry Lewkowicz, Inspired Marketing

Tebogo Loate, Cheka Lefa

Thomas van der Spuy, Call Pay

Warrick Kernes, Insaka Academy

James van der Hoven, Vane Digital

Deon van Rensburg, Inspired Marketing


Empowering Women, Youth and Disadvantaged in Ecommerce Committee

Karen Nadasen, Chair, PayU

Brenda Ngubeni, Brownsense

Lauretta Ngakane, EFSA

Venessa Dewing, DHL

Mpho Sekwele, Sintu Online

Rieka van Wijk, PayU

Maggy Sibiye, BrownSense

To join the Ecommerce Forum of Africa, please sign up here.




Learn more about eCommerce.